Wednesday, June 14, 2017

The Weather Is Finally Heating Up And So Is The Romance!

It has been TOO long readers, and for that I have no excuse. Life if just like that sometimes, BUT I have finally found some time (when I'm not exhausted, you know, working full time, taking care of an elderly parent, my kids, and a house. It takes a toll) to sit down and catch you up on all that is good out there in "Alphabet City".

The weather is finally getting warmer and so is the romance! There were actually a few surprises out there! So of course I had to share them with you.

I'm going to start with Rebekah Weatherspoon's Haven, the first book in her new Beards and Bondage series. As you know, Rebekah is one of my favorite authors, and while I haven't read all of her work, the ones that I have read I've thoroughly fallen in love with. Haven is no exception.

One of the main reasons that I enjoy Rebekah's work is her award winning ability to blend lovable characters, humor, and steamy sex into a story that's a true page turner. Haven was something that I just didn't expect. Like I said, I haven't read all of her work, so maybe Rebekah has other works similar to this; but Haven is a much darker type of romance than the other works that I've had the pleasure of reading.

Beards and Bondage falls in the  BDSM, Contemporary, Drama, Erotic Romance, Romance, Suspense genres.

*Personal Note* To Rebekah, thank you for what you bring to the world of romance, especially interracial romance. So many books in the BWWM realm seem to just be some thrown together, from who knows where, story where all the female character can do is simply be grateful to the billionaire boyfriend and "oops" somehow end up pregnant. Thank you for writing two characters that are strong even in their "brokenness".

Brava Chica! Brava! Looking forward to book two in the series!!

HAVEN

"A week-long getaway…

City girl Claudia Cade’s carefree life is plunged into chaos when a camping trip with her brother in the national forests of Northern California turns into a deadly dash for her survival.

A solitary world turned upside down…

Nature photographer Shepard Olsen has resigned himself to a quiet existence, with only his dog by his side, until a woman in need of his protection shows up on his doorstep and throws his universe into disarray.

Two lives linked by tragedy…

Claudia is desperate to heal from her traumatic loss, but can’t stop thinking about her run-in with evil….or the grizzled mountain man whose quick thinking and good aim saved her life. When she shows up on Shep’s doorstep again, she finds she isn’t the only one who can’t move on.

… saved by bliss.

The two begin an intense, passionate relationship of Dominance and submission, pleasure and pain, but with dark memories haunting them and decisions about the future rapidly approaching, Claudia can’t help but wonder…how long can they be each other’s haven?"


*** WARNING: This book contains a sexual relationship between a fashionista and a cranky mountain man who are dealing with physical and emotional trauma. And a very big, cuddly dog.***



Now for the next book, or should I say books, that have been occupying my time (I have to admit, when it comes to books, I think I have a bit of OCD. If I start a series and I LIKE it, then it's an impulse to read all of the books in the series before I can actually sit down and focus enough to write something. That's part of the reason it's taken me so long to actually sit down and write this article!)


The series that I'm talking about is T.S. Joyce's Red Havoc Series. This is a find that I can only thank my PnR query to my Kindle. Actually I queried Interracial PnR. I didn't like the selection that they gave me, that's another article in the making, but I did see the cover of Red Havoc Book three and I had to have it. I'm a firm believer that if the cover sucks, the book is going to suck. You can see for yourself, these book covers are begging you to peel them back and see what lies beneath *wink*

I can't leave you with an excerpt from each of the books because it would make it too long, but I will tell you that I have thoroughly enjoyed books one thru four of this series. I'm pretty sure that there's going to be a book five and yes I will be reading it. Unlike so many shifter series, the main fellas of Red Havoc aren't wealthy billionaires. These guys are barley eeking out a living in the mountains and their finally ready to meet their mates, much to their own chagrin, but find them they do. This is my first time reading anything by Joyce, and I think she's wonderful. She writes complete stories with well developed characters. There's suspense as well as the appropriate amount of serious "Good Good". Thank goodness I have my blood pressure under control.

Anyhoo! If you're a fan of PnR this is the series for you. Joyce also has several other series that I'm going to give a go. From the way they look I believe that they are linked to the Red Havoc characters.

RED HAVOC REBEL

"Kaylee Cummings is back in Covington to change her destiny. She used to be known as the town rich girl, misunderstood by everyone but one boy, Anson Carter. They’d loved hard, and then destroyed each other in their youth, so when she crashes into him again, the residual anger from what he’d done comes back ten-fold. All she has to do is stay far away from him, and follow through with her plan to change her life, but he’s reminding her exactly why she fell for him when they were teenagers. That panther shifter is trouble with a capital T, but she can’t seem to keep away from him. And he seems to be having the same problem staying away from her. Too bad what she’s really in town for could destroy them both if they aren’t careful.

Anson Carter never moved on from Kaylee. How could he? He’d picked her when they were seventeen, and then given everything for her, only to be betrayed. Now, all he can hope is to find peace in the Appalachian Mountains with a misfit, moonshiner crew of reclusive panther shifters. But when Kaylee blows back in town, his anger is hard to keep. She’s so different now, and her many secrets only make him more curious about the beautiful human he used to know. He’s drawn to her, but she’s back in their hometown for reasons that could get him and his Red Havoc Crew killed. Anson must make a choice—the girl he used to love, or the safety of the crew he’s grown to trust."


Content Warning: Explicit love scenes, naughty language, and piles of sexy shifter secrets. Intended for mature audiences.

So do yourself a well deserved favor and spend some of these hot summer nights chillin' out with Rebekah Weatherspoon and T.S. Joyce. I promise you you won't regret it.

Much Love, Pandora




Friday, January 27, 2017

Starting The Year Off Right! My Faves (List 1)

I know we're almost to the end of the first month of the new year, but there's still time for me to give a list of books that will keep your TBR List fat and happy for the next few months. I'll start with my top picks and then follow-up with my honorable mentions.



1. Rebekah Weatherspoon's
    So For Real

Let me start by saying Rebekah! Gurl! I love you and your writing!!! Please, please don't ever STOP!
*Whew* with my "Fan Girl" rant now over let's talk about Rebekah Weatherspoon's So For Real.

So For Real is the third book in the Sugar Baby novella series. This book went live on November 1, 2016. There are very few series that make me bite my nails while I'm waiting for it, but this is one of them. I just had to find out what was going on with the main characters Kayla and Michael! We have gone on a funny, sexy, loving journey with them and of course I wanted to see that happy ending. As expected Rebekah did not disappoint. Her writing is filled with well placed humor, pop your ovaries "good good", as well as creating characters that you will cry with and root for. Well done Sister Gurl!!

"Even the best laid plans can go completely off the rails…

After pulling off the perfect wedding, Kayla Davis, now Kayla Bradbury need only sit back and enjoy her wonderful life with her amazing husband, internet billionaire and NBA franchise owner, Michael Bradbury. The two are so head over heels for each other that finding creative ways to extend their honeymoon a whole year seems like the only logical next step in their fool-proof plan for happiness.

Too bad life has other ideas for the newlyweds. With personnel hiccups in her small business, a husband balancing dual CEO responsibilities, and news that there will be not one, but two unexpected additions to the Bradbury crew, Kayla needs to totally reconfigure her life if she has any hope of keeping things afloat." - Rebekah Weatherspoon 




2. Jenika Snow's 
A Mate For The Savage

Man oh man...what can I say about Jenika's work. Wait let me back track, this is definitely  not the first book that I've read by Jenika. Her Real Man series is like potato chips, you can't read just one! I'll read several in one day.

What ever kind of Alpha Male floats your boat, you'll be able to shuffle through her books and find him. But let me warn you, by the time you're finished you fall in love with all of them. Not to mention...I don't know WHERE she finds all the studs that she does to grace her covers, but the visual will give you the seats all by themselves!!

"Audrey has known that the slave traders could come for her and her family at any moment, and that time came far too soon. When her mother and brother are killed, and she’s taken to the auctions to be sold to the highest bidder, she knows she can’t live the rest of her life in sexual servitude. But when she manages to escape it isn’t freedom she finds, but a barbaric and savage man that claims she’s his in any way he sees fit.
The moment Styx sees the female he knows she’ll be his mate. She’s human, and although he has human characteristics, he isn’t of her species. But what he knows for certain, what has every part of him tense and ready, is the fact his woman will have his baby inside of her." Jenika Snow - Evernight Publishing








3. LeTeisha Newton's Phenominal

What can I say about Leteisha, she has and will always be on my list of authors that should constantly be in your book stash! She's written everything from Paranormal Romance to hard core down and dirty dark erotica, just choose your pleasure. Leteisha is one of the most diverse writers that I've come across in a very long time.






"I saw her when my face looked like ground meat.

She had one shoe, lost to the world, fragile, ad so fucking beautiful I couldn’t look away.

And then she asked me to take her home. To take away the pain.

It was dangerous to make such a request. Not knowing who I was. What I could do. But I took her home. Did what she asked. And fell in love with her. Fell in love with the broken girl who twisted me up inside. Taught me I was worth believing in. Showed me that I didn’t have to lose in the ring anymore, because she gave me the strength to fight harder.

And then I lost her…

I’ve got to get her back. Fight for her. Win. Take what’s mine, and keep her." LeTeisha Newton


4. L.J. Shen's Vicious (Sinner of Saint #1)

This is my greatest find of the month!! I hadn't heard of L.J. Shen until I saw an add on my FB timeline for her book Vicious, book one in the Sinner of Saint series. As per my usual, I looked at the smokin' hot cover and said to myself, "What the heck, let's give it a go." I was hooked from page one!! I curled up on my couch with my Kindle App a nice glass of marsala and went to work. Let me tell you! L.J. gives you well developed characters, a stunning story line and of course five star "Good Good".  I plan on pushing the limits of my Kindle App by purchasing all the books in this series and anything else that she's written. (There is a Sinner of Saint 0.5 novella available, but it's not necessary to read this before enjoying Vicious).

With that said, It's a pleasure to meet you L.J., you're books are going to be a part of my wheel house for many years to come!


"Emilia

They say love and hate are the same feelings experienced under different circumstances, and it’s true. 
The man who comes to me in my dreams also haunts me in my nightmares. 
He is a brilliant lawyer. 
A skilled criminal. 
A beautiful liar. 
A bully and a savior, a monster and a lover. 
Ten years ago, he made me run away from the small town where we lived. Now, he came for me in New York, and he isn’t leaving until he takes me with him. 

Vicious

She is a starving artist. 
Pretty and evasive like cherry blossom. 
Ten years ago, she barged into my life unannounced and turned everything upside down. 
She paid the price. 
Emilia LeBlanc is completely off-limits, my best friend’s ex-girlfriend. The woman who knows my darkest secret, and the daughter of the cheap Help we hired to take care of our estate. 
That should deter me from chasing her, but it doesn’t. 
So she hates me. Big fucking deal. 
She better get used to me." L.J. Shen

So there you have it!! My top picks to warm up your winter reading! Now for my honorable mentions. Please don't get it twisted, these are honorable mentions but they are all off the chain as well. Happy reading!!

Much Love,

Pandora







Thursday, October 27, 2016

M. Skye and Jenika Snow Two Halves Of The Same Delicious Coin

My life is still in hectic mode! Just bought a new house, so I've been packing and moving for the second time, but hopefully the last time. The process is a BEAR! But during that time I did manage to get some reading in.

The time that I did find to read I chose to spend my time with M. Skye and Jenika Snow. These two ladies are both home run hitters in the world of erotica/romance writing, but they each have a different style that will be sure to cure what ever is ailing you. Sometimes you want it slow and languid with an intense build, sometimes you want it quick, hot, and dirty. That's what these ladies will give you.

First let's start with slow, languid, and intense, that would be M.Skye. I read From Main Chick to Mistress. I don't do spoilers, but I will tell you that in true M. Skye form this is a full length read. The story is on point! I can tell you this, it's a fully flushed out story with characters that you will fall in love with and root for. There is loads of hot and steamy Good Good, as well a several plot twists that honestly, you just won't see coming.

After her husband of fifteen years dumped her, Elizabeth Pearson decided the best revenge would be to become the very thing she despised most a mistress…

Embarking on a racy affair with her ex-husband, Cedric, Liz gets the best of both worlds, while sticking it to him and his new bride, Felicia. Having the most fun and the best sex life she has ever had, Elizabeth soon discovers divorce may have been the best thing that ever happened to her.

With new players in the mix, and love and money on the line, Elizabeth has to decide if she wants Cedric, or if he’s just a loose end to tie in her quest for revenge.

I also recommend A Kiss Before Lying 1 and 2.

Dear M. Skye, I really, REALLY hope that there will be some sort of sequel or follow-up to this book! Loved it!





Next up we have Jenika Snow, what can I say about her! She has the ability to bring to life to every type of rugged man that you can think of! If you're looking for MM she's got it, lumberjack, he's there too! Like I said you can pick your pleasure. Take a look at her Real Man series!

I read all of the books in the series. They're very quick reads, but please don't get it twisted, Jenika does't sacrifice one ounce of quality.

These aren't the first books that I've read of Jenika's and they definitely won't be the last.

He hasn’t been with a woman in five years.

She hasn’t been with a real man … until now.


VIVIAN

I’ve had enough of the crap that goes along with living in the city. So, I packed for a week long vacation in the mountains. Isolation in a cabin for the next seven days sounds like a good way to recoup and get my life back in order. After getting lost while hiking, I stumble upon a cabin that has me questioning whether to ask for help, or if I should brave staying the night in the woods.

JAKE

I left everything behind years ago after the woman I was with betrayed me. Now I work as a lumberjack and live my life as a recluse. Being celibate for the last five years says a lot about my self-control, but I’m a man and have needs, and not giving into what I really want is hard as hell. But I can’t let myself get close to anyone, not even for a few hours. Getting close is how I got screwed over before.

As soon as I see Vivian, I know I have to have her. It’s been forever since I’ve had a woman. Because of a storm rolling in, she’ll have to stay with me overnight. We could do a lot of filthy things in that time. I pride myself on my control, but when it comes to Vivian, I don’t know if I can keep my hands to myself.

I know I can’t.

I have needs, and it’s clear Vivian’s in need of a real man to help her unwind. I can certainly help her in that department.

Warning: If you’re looking for a sappy, pull-your-heartstring kind of book … this isn’t it. If you want a short and dirty story featuring an all-around alpha hero who hasn’t had a woman in years, and a heroine who’ll find out what it’s like to be with a real man ... this might be for you.

She will be the only one he’ll ever want.
He was the first boy she fell in love with.

Quinn

I met Isabel when I was ten.

I fell in love with her before I even knew what that meant.
I knew from the moment I saw her she was it for me. No one else compared to her, and I’d do anything to make her mine. But I was afraid of losing the friendship we have, so I've kept my mouth shut.
But she's leaving me, and I know I can't keep how I feel inside any longer.

Saving myself for the girl I loved isn't a hardship, but something I'm proud of. When it comes to Isabel giving her my virginity, and making her see we belong together, is all that matters.

Isabel

Quinn is like the other half of my soul, the one person I can talk to about anything. He has the bad boy thing going on but is also respectful as much as he is a rebel.

He is the first and only boy I will ever love.
Being forced to move across the country, and leave him behind is like leaving a piece of myself in the process. But telling Quinn, I am madly in love with him could put a strain on our friendship. I didn’t know if that’s something I can handle or risk.

Quinn

Nothing can keep me from Isabel. She is it for me, and I mean that in every conceivable way. Nothing can keep me from her. I hope she's ready because there isn't anything or anyone that will stop me from having her as mine.

Warning: This story is quick and dirty, and filled with a virgin hero that wants his heroine to be his one and only. It's drama free, and has insta-everything going on, so be prepared to have an overload of sugary virgin goodness.

He’s done being the bad boy … he’s ready to be a father.

DEX

I’m the bad boy; the one mothers warn their daughters about. But I’d never seen myself settling down, and at the time that had been fine with me. Then life, reality, whatever you wanted to call it, bitch slapped me right across the face, and I knew what I wanted.

A baby.

At thirty-nine I was having a severe case of baby fever, and that meant convincing the one woman I’ve always wanted but knew was too good for me, to be mine and be the mother of my child.

EVA

I’ve always wanted Dex. It’s hard not to want a man like Dex. He’s all raw power and cut muscle. He’s the epitome of what a real man is, but he’s not a bastard about it.

But then he throws me a curve ball and says he wants me not only as his woman … but the mother of his child.

And I’ll be honest; it’s what I’ve always wanted.

DEX

The truth is Eva deserves better than me, but I’m too selfish, and I want her too badly to back away.

Nothing will stop me from making her mine … and putting my baby inside her.

Warning: This book is short and right to the point—like the kind of story that gives you whiplash. If you enjoy unbelievable plots, and insta-everything going on, you may enjoy this.



He’ll show her how a real man treats a woman…



SABINE

I've never known how good it could feel to be taken care of by a man who knew what he was doing.

Until I was with Hugo...



HUGO

I was older than her.

She was innocent, hadn't experienced all that life had to offer.

I could give her that experience.

Sabine consumed my thoughts, made me desire nothing else but her. No other woman compared to her, and because of that, I haven’t been with a woman for four years, which was also the last time I saw Sabine.

But I was done feeling guilty for what I desired. I wanted Sabine in my life, by my side, and I was about to make that a reality.

I didn’t know if she’d ever been treated the way a female should … but I was going to show her how a real man takes care of a woman.


Warning: If you’re into super short, hot, dirty reads containing a much older hero and younger heroine … keep on reading. This story is guaranteed to make you feel all warm and fuzzy inside, give you that sweet HEA we all deserve, and make you want to search out an experienced older man for yourself.

BRENDAN

I’ve done pretty damn well in hiding my feelings for her over the years, but having Meghan under the same roof as me, and only feet from my bed makes it hard to control myself.

The truth is when it comes to Meghan I don’t want to practice self-control. I love her.

MEGHAN

I’ve known him nearly my whole life. He’s cocky, gets under my skin, but is gorgeous and caring, too. And as much as I want to say it doesn’t affect me, I’d be lying.
The truth is I love him, and I don’t know if that’ll end up destroying me.

BRENDAN

She needed a place to stay, and now she’s got a roommate … me. But I’m about to show her that I want more than a friendly arrangement. Too much time has passed, and I’m done waiting. I’m ready to step up and be a man.
I’ve never been good at sharing, and when it comes to her, she’s mine.


Warning: You like short, hot, straight to the point stories? Do you want drama-free sexiness that leaves nothing to the imagination? Do you want a story that is pretty unbelievable, but gives you the warm fuzzies at the same time? Well then, leave your panties at the door because that’s what’s going down in this quickie.

Now get out there and enjoy a great read!
Much Love,

Pandora

Tuesday, August 30, 2016

Spending A Little Time With Dianne Duvall's Immortal Guardians

There's no better feeling than stumbling across you next great read, unless it's the joy of finding out that it's only book one on in a series of 10!! I am still doing my happy dance!! My state of euphoria is the direct result of finishing book one in Dianne Duvall's book one in the Immortal Guardians series, Darkness Dawns. The last paranormal action/romance series that grabbed my attention like this, was the Black Dagger Brotherhood  by J.R. Ward.

Darkness Dawns has everything that you could want in a paranormal series, plenty of action, hot immortals, and plenty of steamy Good Good! But the foundations for all of that deliciously decadent icing is a solid story.

There are a few reasons that people choose to read romance. There are those that only want the sexual aspect of the writing, which is fine, but then there are those that enjoy the finished product of  carefully developed writing craft, THAT is what a real die hard romance reader wants. THAT is what makes Dianne's writing special, and THAT is what makes me want to sink my teeth into the next in the series.

Book one, Darkness Dawns, sets the stage for all stories that will come here after.

"Once, Sarah Bingham’s biggest challenge was making her students pay attention in class. Now, after rescuing a wounded stranger, she’s landed in the middle of a battle between corrupt vampires and powerful immortals who also need blood to survive. Roland Warbrook is the most compelling man Sarah has ever laid hands on. But his desire for her is mingled with a hunger he can barely control . . .

In his nine centuries of immortal existence, no woman has tempted Roland as much as Sarah. But asking her to love him is impossible -- when it mean forfeiting the world she’s always known, and the life he would do anything to protect." Dianne Duvall

I am looking forward to continuing on my journey with these beautiful Immortal Guardians.

Also! Dianne has a new book about to drop! Rendezvous With Yesterday from the Gifted Ones Series (Book 2). It's available for pre-order on Amazon.


"Modern-day bounty hunter Bethany Bennett helps her brother track two fugitives to a forest outside of Houston, Texas. But what should have been a routine apprehension of two bail skippers spirals out of control and ends in violence. After Beth and her brother are both seriously injured, a mysterious figure suddenly looms over her. And, when the smoke clears, Beth finds herself not only in another place, but in another time.

As Lord Robert, Earl of Fosterly, attempts to identify and track down the nameless enemy who has been plaguing his lands and people with violence, the most peculiar woman stumbles into his path. Small, vulnerable, yet possessed of a bold, fiery spirit and wicked sense of humor, she persists in dubbing Robert and his men members of something called a medieval reenactment group . . . until she sees his castle and labels herself mad. It seems bounty hunter Bethany Bennett has come to him from the future, bringing with her laughter and chaos, swiftly winning the hearts of his people and inspiring within him a love he thought he would never experience again. But when Robert discovers a way for her to return to her time, will the love they share be enough to keep them together?"

Much Love,

Pandora



Dianne Duvall is the New York Times and USA Today Bestselling Author of the Immortal Guardians paranormal romance series and The Gifted Ones series. Her books have twice been nominated for RT Reviewers' Choice Awards and are routinely deemed Top Picks by RT Book Reviews, The Romance Reviews, and/or Night Owl Reviews. Reviewers have called Dianne's books "fast-paced and humorous" (Publishers Weekly), "utterly addictive" (RT Book Reviews), "extraordinary" (Long and Short Reviews), and "wonderfully imaginative" (The Romance Reviews).

Dianne's books have all appeared on the New York Times, USA Today, and/or Amazon Bestseller lists. The first book in Dianne's new series The Gifted Ones, A Sorceress of His Own, was released on June 2, 2015. A prequel of sorts to Darkness Dawns. A Sorceress of His Own is a medieval romance with paranormal elements that won awards in the Lone Star, Where the Magic Begins, Southern Heat, Picture This, Book of Your Heart and Suzannah national writing competitions. The second book in the series, Rendezvous With Yesterday, will be released in 2016 and is a time travel romance.

In addition to writing romance, Dianne has completed a one-act play (comedy) and teamed up with an award-winning screenwriter to write a spec script for a new situation comedy. Several of her poems have also been published in anthologies.

When she isn’t writing, Dianne is very active in the independent film industry and has even appeared on-screen, crawling out of a moonlit grave and wielding a machete like some of the vampires she loves to create in her books.

Thursday, August 18, 2016

Five Stars for Linden Hughes' A Taste Of Lacey

Books, books, and more books! I honestly don't think that a person can have too many books or for that matter, read too much. This leads me to share with you one of the aides in my guilty pleasure, my Kindle "Wish List". There are currently 85 titles waiting in queue (cue). it seems that as fast as I read them I'm adding more on! One day I'll get through the entire list I promise (fingers crossed behind my back).

Anyhoo! One of the titles on my list was a book called Taste of Lacey, by Linden Hughes. I had never heard of her, but the title had come up in a search and the cover looked really, really good! I mean look at it! The picture is actually taken of the two models together, not two separate people photo shopped together. Now please don't get me wrong, photo shop has it's place, and it's produced some killer book covers, but there's nothing like looking at two people that actually are together and look like they're into each other.

I was not disappointed. A Taste of Lacey is a beautiful story of childhood friends turned adult, who suddenly find themselves looking at one another differently. There's plenty steamy Good Good, but there's also enough angst to keep you biting your fingernails wondering if they'll actually get to their happily ever after.

The story of friends turned lovers isn't a new premise, but Linden has given a fresh spin on the idea. You will fall in as much love with Lacey and Ryan as I did. Kudos to you Linden Hughes!

As far as I could tell this is Linden's first work, but I'll be keeping my eyes open for more from her. Do yourself a favor and add this to your Wish List, just don't let it stay on there too long *wink*.

Much Love,

Pandora

Purchase from Loose-Id
Purchase at Amazon.com

Excerpt:

It was over! The fund-raiser dinner for the mayor of Atlanta and five hundred of his closest contributors ended without a drop of tea spilled or a single cold-food complaint. Not bad for a twenty-nine-year-old black female, and she was just getting started. 

The top item on Lacey Bishop’s “things to do before turning thirty” list was to have her own business. A year ago, she’d opened the Seasoned Thymes Catering and given her mother heart palpitations at the same time. “Why, pray tell, would you snub a job at the realty office or at your father’s construction company in favor of menial labor? And why do you always have to go against the grain?” 

Despite her mother’s accusations and loud, headache-inducing objections, Lacey’s parents wrote a fat check, giving the Thymes a much-needed capital injection. Her mother even brokered a deal for Lacey to purchase three adjoining buildings in a growing area for less than a song. After a quick rehab of the neglected properties, the Thymes began operations in the middle unit. Lacey liked to think the investment was a sign of unwavering support, but she knew better. More than likely, the cash was a bandage to minimize the bleed of potential embarrassment to her mother. It wouldn’t do for Lena Bishop’s daughter to operate in a low-rent area and be a “glorified cook.” 

The words--spouted in anger by her mother and later recanted--were forgiven but not forgotten. In fact, they served as Lacey’s motivation to become the caterer to Atlanta’s elite. To date, accomplishments toward her dream could fit on a dime, but tonight’s event and picking up five more contracts hadn’t hurt. Too bad her love life wasn’t coming together as well. A man was the least of her concerns anyway. As soon as she became a catering mogul, she’d put “have a successful relationship” on her to-do list. That would make her mother happy. Maybe. 

A janitorial service had handled the majority of the postevent cleaning, but family and friends also pitched in so Lacey could tie up loose ends and at least try to leave before dawn. As expected, her sister, Lisa, cut out before dessert, but the antics of that drama queen weren’t enough to dampen Lacey’s spirits. 

As soon as Troy, the head chef, finished loading supplies onto the company van, she’d collect the payment, and they could leave. With the exception of a couple of security guards and the mayor’s assistant, everybody else was gone already. Lacey didn’t mind; she needed the solitude to help her absorb the enormity of the night’s event. Even her parents and brother left, but only after Lacey had threatened them with bodily harm. Lacey shook her head and smiled. Oh, the irony. After giving Lacey pure hell for once again being the “family traitor,” her mother frequented the Thymes gigs like a groupie, often dragging her father along. 

Tonight was the gig that counted, though. 

Her savvy marketing skills and an impressive culinary degree had put Lacey’s foot in the door to bid on the contract for the mayor’s dinner; her outright refusal to cut corners had made her a contender. She’d gone up against quite a few experienced, well-established caterers, but their mistake was promising and delivering cheap. Anyone wanting cheap need not look Lacey Bishop’s way--a philosophy she’d embraced long before opening the Thymes. She realized watered-down, tasteless food would do nothing to spark donors’ generosity, which was the main goal. Plus, the seafood gumbo and smoked salmon at the tasting had caused the mayor’s rotund assistant to smack his lips and moan out loud. Thank goodness the mayor’s office chose quantity and quality--and awarded the job to the new kid who happened to be the highest bidder. Now he was about to fork over a pretty penny for a fabulous Thymes experience. Yes. 

Lacey wasn’t normally a very demonstrative person, but a loud, rambunctious scream was close to her vocal chords, rearing like an Olympic sprinter to break free. She’d pulled off an event for the mayor of one of the largest cities in America! Restraining the fist pump also threatening to escape, she calmly headed in search of the mayor’s assistant when the lobby doors swung open. Expecting Mr. Hubbard, she couldn’t hide her surprise when Ryder McKay, or Rye, her brother’s best friend, strolled in. Rye, his parents, and several neighbors from their old subdivision had attended the dinner in support of the Thymes. To say she was humbled would be an understatement. 

“What are you still doing here?” she asked, smiling. 

He gave a lopsided grin and ran his hand over his thick, close-cut blond hair. “I was out back helping Troy arrange your fancy catering apparatuses in the van.” 

“Rye! When I invited you, I had no intention of putting you to work, and not on a dirty job like handling chafing dishes.” It was enough he’d come at all, considering he was constantly on the go with his demanding job. 

“It’s no big deal. I even washed my hands afterward like Emily Ann taught me,” he said, referring to his mother. He held his palms up and wiggled his long fingers for inspection. “Plus I’m your ride home. Let’s go.” 

“Whoa. What?” She frowned so hard her eyes squinted. “Troy’s supposed to be dropping me off.” 

“He was, but that van is packed tighter than a can of sardines. I told him I’d take you.” 

The smile making its way to her lips froze. Hands on her hips, she pinned him with her gaze. “Wait just one darned minute, McKay. Is the top up?” 

His knowing grin put his even white teeth on display. “It is now.” 

“Good,” she said, her mirth not far from the surface. “It’s nice to know you listened the few hundred times I told you no black woman really wants the wind blowing through her hair, especially if she just got it done. I don’t care if you have the biggest and best vehicle ever made. It’s still a convertible.” 

“I think the many times you refused to ride with me over the years were lesson enough,” he said with a wry twist of his full lips. 

She laughed. He was absolutely right. “You know what? I don’t care what Kyle says; you’re all right with me. How’d you manage to get separated from him and a night on the town anyway?” 

Rye lifted one lean shoulder. “I wasn’t up for it after just getting in this afternoon and having to leave again tomorrow. I told him I’d stick around and make sure you were all right, so he let me off the hook.” 

She leaned closer to him, noticing the lines bracketing his mouth and his tired-looking eyes. She felt guilty because instead of resting, he was stuck helping her. “I appreciate it.” 

“Hey, the gumbo alone was worth the trip.” 

“Yeah, yeah, I know. It’s all about the food.” When they’d both still lived at home with their parents, if she was experimenting in the kitchen, he seemed to appear out of nowhere to be a taste tester. She hoped he knew how valuable his input was. 

Mr. Hubbard entered through the double doors with a big grin on his face. “Miss Bishop, everything was wonderful! The service was impeccable, and the food was divine.” 

“Thank you. It was our pleasure.” 

“The balance due on the contract,” he said, handing her an envelope. “The mayor was so pleased he included a nice bonus. You’ll hear from us again for sure.” 

She clutched the envelope and didn’t move an inch until Mr. Hubbard was out of sight. As soon as the doors to the outside of the building closed, she took a quick peek at the check. It had lots of zeroes, and it was made out to her company. Actually, as the company’s operator and sole stockholder, it was hers, but she wouldn’t split hairs. Her hardworking staff deserved much of the credit, and nothing would have been accomplished without them. She’d been paid for a real job not at cost or a freebie to get her name out. Her smile was so wide she was sure her tonsils showed. She started jumping up and down, stilettos and all, shrieking like she’d just won the lottery. Every emotion she’d been holding back came out in full force. 

“We got paid!” 

She grabbed Rye’s neck and planted a loud kiss on his whiskered cheek, but lost her balance on the way down. Instinctively, she circled her arms around his neck and clamped her legs around his waist to keep from falling. Rye’s grip on the fleshiest part of her behind held her in place. 

The first thing she noticed was how solid his body was. His shoulders were packed tighter than granite, and it didn’t stop there. From where her chest melded to his, down to the ominous area around his lean hips, he was chiseled muscle. Like she was touching a steel beam under the Atlanta sun, his heat permeated her very bones. 

Bit by bit, her laughter faltered and then faded away. Her gaze collided with his, and arousal rushed through her. Over the years she and Rye had exchanged friendly hugs or pecks on the cheek, but they’d never been quite this cozy. They fit like a train to a track. 

She looked on, amazed, as his cornflower-blue eyes darkened to a warm indigo. The phenomenon sent electric jolts of desire to her center. Had his mesmerizing orbs always looked like ten layers of cloudless sky? She couldn’t be certain; her brain was scrambled from the sensation of his substantial manhood pressing into her center. Instead of alarming her, the first contact with his erection made her pulse hammer. And her panties wet. 

What? 

Yes, she was on a natural high after the success of the dinner, but surely she wasn’t hallucinating. 

Was she really in Ryder McKay’s arms, and was he really kneading her behind like it belonged to him? At this moment he wasn’t Kyle’s best friend but a tall, hard man she desperately wanted. 

Rye lowered his head, and she allowed her eyes to drift closed. The first touch of his lips against hers was gentle and fleeting, like the brush of a cloud. Her lips parted, and he deepened their connection, flicking his tongue into her mouth to tangle boldly with hers. Damn, he could kiss. And he tasted so good, minty and sweet at the same time. All of a sudden, her breasts grew heavy, and her nipples hardened as if begging for his attention. Her mind struggled to dismantle the reasoning behind her visceral response, but Rye spread her ass cheeks, and all thought ceased. An insistent heat she hadn’t felt in years rushed to her vagina, and she gasped at the pleasurable burn. 

An acute sense of loss took her by surprise when he broke their connection. Excitement replaced disappointment, though, when he nibbled a trail down her neck toward her bosom. The closer he got to her rigid buds, the more they tightened, beckoning him. He answered, pushing her sturdy cotton bra beneath one needy globe and then lowering his head. 

“Rye,” she moaned, almost in a panic. At first she was scared he would suck on her trembling mound. Then she was afraid he wouldn’t. When he did, the need generated by his seesawing jaw was so powerful and wicked it made her pussy throb. 

Oh goodness. She’d referred to her female bits as her pussy, a word she’d always found utterly distasteful. Under the current circumstances, it fit. No nice, genteel expression could describe the plump, dewy flesh Rye had awakened. Tightening her legs around his lean waist, she rotated against his hardness. They were in the middle of a huge dining area at a public convention center where security could come along at any time, but there she was, grinding on him like a nympho. 

“Damn, Lacey. Where the fuck you been hiding all this fire?” Rye whispered roughly. 

In slow increments, she slid down his muscular body to stand on legs that had the fortitude of cotton balls. She was dazed and confused. One minute she was celebrating a major milestone for her company; the next she was on the verge of begging Ryder McKay to make her come. He was her brother’s best friend and their neighbor. When Kyle had broken his leg and couldn’t drive, it was Rye’s job to pick her up from school every afternoon for a month. This man was on her “family” Christmas list and was as familiar with the nooks and crannies of her parents’ home as she was, yet he’d turned her panties into a soaking mess. 

Her behavior was so out of character she didn’t know exactly how to react. Her normal practice was to write everything down, twist it, turn it, and evaluate it before taking the first step. Well, she didn’t feel that way tonight. She wanted Rye. Bad. 

According to her ex-fiancĂ©, she was “a cold bitch with a frozen pussy to match.” She’d believed him because he hadn’t done a thing to thaw her out. But as far as she could tell, her pussy worked just fine, because it was on fire for Rye. 

“I don’t know,” she finally answered. 

“This is what I know: I’m going to take you home, and either I can leave you there and we forget this ever happened, or,” he continued in a hard, menacing tone, “you’re going to invite me in, and we’re going to fuck until neither of us can walk.” 

At the possibility of him filling her with his hardness, she was no longer dazed or confused. She was hot as hell. Lacey Bishop, independent, logical black female, was about to fuck the white boy next door. She’d question her sanity later. 

“Yes,” she whispered. 

Although she was standing much taller than her normal five feet six in her high heels, he bent until his ear was close to her mouth. 

“Yes, what?” 

“Yes, I’m going to invite you in,” she said, her voice firm. 

“For what? I need the words, Lacey.” 

“Ryder Jackson McKay, I want you to take me home so we can fuck until neither of us can walk.” 

She strutted out of the building, check in hand. 

Copyright © Linden Hughes


Wednesday, August 17, 2016

Dear Romance Publishers, Please Stop Giving Readers The "Okie Doke"

Let me start this post by saying that when I first started blogging years ago, I made a promise to myself that I would do my best to only write on topics that I felt positively about. I never wanted to be the kind of blogger that was always spewing negativity. This has become even more important to me while writing book reviews; however, there's a trend that I I've noticed that I just can't ignore any longer. That would be the issue of false advertising in the interracial romance genre.

I've already discussed in previous articles that I am a HUGE fan of boxed sets. I have found more fantabulous authors and stories that I can shake a stick at through this medium; however, I've also noticed that there is more than a little false advertising with boxed sets.

First lets clarify what I expect from a genre search. When I tune up my trusty Kindle App and type BWWM in the search box I expect that all of the results will fall into this category. I have seen the occasion where BBW will also be included in the sear results and that's cool too as long as the leading ladies in these romances are women of color. Don't get me twisted, I am an equal opportunity steamy romance reader. I discriminate against no one, but, If I'm in the mood for something in particular I expect my search results to be accurate. I have also mentioned in previous articles how much the cover art plays an important role in my book selections. So it would stand to reason that If I do a BWWM search, I expect to see evidence of that on the cover.

So let me get back to this boxed set thing. recently I did a BWWM romance search on my app and a boxed set turned up,  (I'm not going to list the title because I don't want to get sued) any way The cover looked great gorgeous Sista with a serious dark haired hottie. Ok, I make my purchase and start reading....first book...as I go along a red flag goes up, no description of the lead female. There's no mention of her beautiful chocolate, cafe au lait, or even golden skin. Not even a side note about her hazel eyes (I have no idea why most Sista Gurls in romances have hazel or light eyes, they just do). I get to the end of the first book in the set and like I suspected the leading lady WAS NOT a BW, she was a BBW, but not a BW BBW. Ok....so I let that one slide.

So on to the second story. So how does it start? By straight off the top describing the leading lady as a petite, raven haired Caucasian curvy woman. All that's well and good, but that wasn't what I was looking for. At this point I just started paging through the stories realizing that story after story was anything but BWWM romance.

I'll be honest with you, I was straight fed-up! Like I said, this isn't the first time this has happened to me, but the sad part is that this won't be the last.  So for all of you publishers and marketing specialists, please stop giving readers the Okie Doke.

Give readers what they ask for. Tag your publications appropriately. You should want readers to be happy with their choices AND want to read more of the authors whose stories you included in your set.

Much Love,

Pandora

Friday, August 5, 2016

Renea Mason and Rebekah Weatherspoon Heating Up My Summer Reading List

First let me apologize for being gone for so long. I blame it on y pesky gall bladder that suddenly found itself in need of removal. You would have though that I would have had plenty of time to read and write, but actually I spent most of my time sleeping. The body just doesn't bounce back as quickly as it used to, old age, what a bummer. Anyway, when I was finally able to make my way back to my favorite past-time, steamy romances, I couldn't think of two better authors that I wanted to hop back on the train with than Renea Mason and Rebekah Weatherspoon.

Both Renea and Rebekah are celebrated Erotica Romance Authors in her own right. Rene Mason is a  Audie Award Winner for Curing Dr. Vincent, and Rebekah Mason's novella FIT (#1 in the FIT Trilogy) won the Romantic Times Book Reviews Reviewers’ Choice Award for Best Erotica Novella and most recently SATED (#3 in the FIT Trilogy) was nominated for the the Romantic Times Book Reviews Reviewers’ Choice Award for Best Digital Erotic Romance. With that being said, the least of your worries is if you will enjoy their work.


The first book on my list was Loving Dr. Vincent, book three in the Good Doctor Series (Renea, if you happen to read this, I REALLY think there's room there for a book four!) Anyhoo, Not only is this one of the best series that I've ever read, it's a perfect example of
excellent story and steamy menage good good that will have your toes curling and your forehead breaking out into and sweat and your lady parts trying to evolve into a sentient being!

Loving Dr. Vincent brings all of the characters full circle and the main story to a well thought out and developed conclusion.

Excerpt

"Elaine Watkins, Public Relations Advisor, is surprised when she receives a summons from the very attractive and enigmatic Dr. Xavier Vincent. She worships the talented physician and company icon responsible for developing the cure that saved her sister’s life and isn’t immune to his charm. Even though puzzled by his request, she is excited and eager to get started on his latest project.

But Dr. Vincent has other ideas. Instead of discussing cures, drugs and marketing strategies, he asks Elaine to join him in Paris to indulge his unique sexual appetites.

Torn between gratitude for saving her sister, her attraction for the powerful man and compromising her pre-conceived notions of sexuality, she must decide if it’s easier to feed his desires or walk away. Until she devises a plan of her own.

“Make no mistake, Elaine, I am a king. Kings command and conquer. They are brutal and uncompromising. You don’t want a king. Face it, you came here expecting a saint.” 
– Dr. Xavier Vincent"

From the first word of the first book to the final word of the last chapter, Renea will keep you enthralled. I look forward to keeping up with her.


Please check out her work on her website Renea Mason, Love Undefined. You can also follow her on Twitter, Google+, and Instagram.


Now! On to my beloved Sister Gurl, Rebekah Weatherspoon! This is the second installment in her Sugar Baby Novella Series. There are certain literary flavors that I've come to expect from Rebekah and So Right, does not disappoint.

Rebekah has, in my opinion  very unique talent of finding the perfect  balance of steamy, curl your toes Good Good, and humor that any reader will find genuine and refreshing. I also HIGHLY recommend her Fit Series, which is another one of my personal favorites.

Excerpt

First comes love. Then comes…the most ill timed proposal in history?

Kayla Davis never dreamt she’d meet sexy, considerate, and seriously sweet Internet billionaire, Michael Bradbury, but ten months after Michael went from Sugar Daddy to for real boyfriend she can’t imagine spending another day without him. Cohabitation is totally working—throw in a puppy or two and Kayla has her happily ever after wrapped up in a perfect little bow.

Until she finds out Michael might have bigger plans for their future, like marriage, kids, and ownership of a professional sports team. Kayla is more than ready to join Michael on this amazing ride through the next chapter of their lives, but first she needs to catch her breath and see if Michael is ready to be a part of a team and not just the boss.


Rebekah, this is from me to you. You are one of the very few erotic romance writers that ALWAYS manages to serve up exactly what I nee when I need it! Thank you for staying true to yourself. Continue exploring the depth and beauty of your unique voice, we don't have enough of them in the world.

You can follow Rebekah on her website, Rebekah Weatherspoon, Where Happily Ever Afters Are Always In Color, Twitter, and Facebook.

Stay tuned to more book reviews, I promise not to stay away this long again!

Much Love,

Pandora