Wednesday, September 13, 2017

Celia Aaron Acquisition Series - The Best Dark Romance That You're Not Going To Want To Read


Today wasn't the best of day for me, (courtesy of seasonal allergies) but I couldn't let the day come to and end without getting through this book review. My last review touched on book one of this series, Counselor, but now I've finished the entire series and it's without a doubt been one of the toughest reads that I've had in a very, very long time; but not for the reasons that you might think.

I need to take a minute to tell you a little about about me in order for you to get the jist of where I'm going to go with this review. I'm the kind of person that loves to ride the highest, fasted roller-coaster that you have, but I'm going to scream the entire time. I love suspense films, but I'm going to cover my eyes and the intense parts. I've even been known to hit pause on a film just to take a smoke break to calm my nerves down! With that said, Celia Aaron's Acquisition Series was better that any roller coaster that I've ever been on!


via GIPHY

I am an unabashed lover of all things romance, especially dark romance. There's a time and place for the basic frilly kind, but I like the endorphin boost that only a dark romance can give. But Celia Aaron gives you that and so much more!!!

The Acquisition Series is comprised of 3 books Counselor, Magnate, ans Sovereign (4 if you include the title Sinclair, which is a prologue to the series). Each one brings a unique set of thrill points. You think you'll be able to predict what's going to happen, but you can't! Yes, there's plenty of the "Good Good", but Aaron uses it to masterfully drive the main plot forward, so it enhances the story rather that making the reader feel that the sex is just thrown in there just to be able to increase sales.

I read the entire series in order. For the serious reader, you can probably get through each book in about and hour if you have uninterrupted time; but like I said,  had to take a few breaks just so I could handle the suspense!

When I got the end of book three, Sovereign, I was SO glad that it was finished, but at the same time I wanted more. Which by the way Celia, there is definitely more that can be added to this saga!!!! PULEEEEASE!!


via GIPHY

Anyhoo...I digress...back to the review. For all of you that have a brave heart and enjoy a serious thrill wrapped in steamy dreamy, then this is the series for you. I have plans to read all of the other books/series that Celia has available. I think I just might start with....

Dark Protector





So that's all for now, but I'll be back soon! Much Love, Pandora

DARK PROTECTOR

"From the moment I saw her through the window of her flower shop, something other than darkness took root inside me. Charlie shone like a beacon in a world that had long since lost any light. But she was never meant for me, a man that killed without remorse and collected bounties drenched in blood.
I thought staying away would keep her safe, would shield her from me. I was wrong. Danger followed in my wake like death at a slaughter house. I protected her from the threats that circled like black buzzards, kept her safe with kill after kill.
But everything comes with a price, especially second chances for a man like me. 
Killing for her was easy. It was living for her that turned out to be the hard part.

Author's Note: This is a full-length romance novel. It's not a super-dark read, no trigger warning. Explicit violence and hot sex included. HEA, no cheating." Celia Aaron

Wednesday, September 6, 2017

Ready to Light Some Fall Fires! Rebekah Weatherspoon, Celia Aaron, Brittany Adams

The last official holiday of the summer has come and gone, the first day of fall rapidly approaching. This is the time of year that makes you want to pull out your favorite throw blanket, change your adult beverage of choice from wine to something that provides a bit more bite. You want to fire up by the fireplace and curl up with a few reads that will get those internal thermostats rising. This is where I come in. I have three excellent reads for you to add to your Fall TBR List.

We're going to start with my top pick for your list, Rebekah Weatherspoon's Sanctuary. This is book two in her Beards & Bondage Series (Book one is titled Haven). If you've been reading my reviews you'll know that I am a HUGE fan of this young lady. In my opinion she's a rising star in the romance genre. Her Beards & Bondage series is a really beautiful expansion of her already dynamic story telling abilities.

This series is a slightly darker turn from earlier works that I've read of hers. The moments of humor that are a hallmark in my eyes for Rebekah, are at times replaced with s slightly cruel irony that you find yourself smiling at any way. I also have to take just a sec to add that WHOEVER she gets to designs her covers deserves some kind of  award! There's got to be one out there somewhere, because DAMN! Now I shall digress.

This is a series that you can read as "stand alone", but my suggestion is that you read it as intended. It will make your journey that much sweeter.

The relationship that develops between the main characters Liz an Silas is one of the most beautiful that I've had the pleasure of reading in a long time. What's the saying that comes to mind, "Fake it till you make it". But alas, there will be no spoilers here. For future reference, I can't wait until book three!

GENRES: BDSM, CONTEMPORARY, EROTIC ROMANCE, ROMANTIC COMEDY, SUSPENSE | SERIES: BEARDS & BONDAGE

"When she needs a sanctuary…

Targeted by a sadistic former client, attorney Liz Lewis needs a place to lay low. When a friend offers her his family farm as a safe house, she eagerly accepts, unaware that she’ll have to share the farm with her friend’s brawny, beautiful brother, Silas McInroy.

…she invades his…

Weary of a world that doesn’t understand him, Silas just wants to be left alone to grow the best produce upstate New York has to offer. Still, he’s not going to toss a woman out when her safety is on the line. But the only way to explain her presence on his farm is to claim that they fell in love online…and the last thing he needs is a fake relationship that threatens to become more and more real every day.

With her world turned upside down and danger on her trail, Liz knows that this temporary refuge can’t last forever…but leaving the comfort and ease of Silas’s arms and farm to face the reality of her life may be the hardest thing she’s ever had to do." Rebekah Weatherspoon

*** WARNING: This book contains scenes of mild bondage and domination between a gorgeous lawyer and a sexy farmer who is terrible with women. And five farm dogs with varying degrees of loyalty to both the hero and heroine.***

Let's move on to my number two pick for your list Counselor, by Celia Aaron. This is the first book of Celia's that I've had the pleasure of reading, but it definitely won't be the last! My reading Aaron's Counselor was another luck of the draw, thanks to my Kindle. I saw it in the selections running along the bottom the screen after I had finished reading the book that's third on this list. (There is actually a prologue to this book in the series titled Sinclair and the third book in the series is Magnate and the third is Sovereign)

For those of you that know me, you know how much I'm into book covers; after all, the cover is the first thing that you see and either it draws me in, or it turns me off. I will say that while the cover didn't initially call out my name, the fact that it was a free read under my Kindle Unlimited coupled with the fact that I was in desperate need of another read had my "one click" finger going before I knew what happened. I have to tell you, this is one of the BEST random choices that I have ever made. Of course I can't give you any spoilers, but by the time I had finished I was biting my nails to get to the second one.

Celia Aaron is a masterful story teller. She has imbued this read with not only the steamy romance that we all crave, but also with an excellent blend of darkness and suspense. If you're a lover of dark romance you'll truly enjoy this series.  With that said, I'll be keeping Aaron's books in constant rotation on my carousel.

"In the heart of Louisiana, the most powerful people in the South live behind elegant gates, mossy trees, and pleasant masks. Once every ten years, the pretense falls away and a tournament is held to determine who will rule them. The Acquisition is a crucible for the Southern nobility, a love letter written to a time when barbarism was enshrined as law.

Now, Sinclair Vinemont is in the running to claim the prize. There is only one way to win, and he has the key to do it -- Stella Rousseau, his Acquisition. To save her father, Stella has agreed to become Sinclair's slave for one year. Though she is at the mercy of the cold, treacherous Vinemont, Stella will not go willingly into darkness.

As Sinclair and Stella battle against each other and the clock, only one thing is certain: The Acquisition always ends in blood." Cecilia Aaron


Last, but not least on my list is Killer by Brittany Adams. One of life's great pleasures as a reader is coming across a new author who's work I can seriously get into. I'll also be honest with you that I'm not one of those readers that will struggle through the first few chapters and hopefully get into where the author is trying to go. If you can't get me hooked at least by the end of the first chapter, I'm done. Patience has never been one of my virtues...I'm a work in progress #nojudgementzone . Killer had me hooked from the jump!

Killer is a dark erotic romance that will not disappoint. What did I enjoy best, other than the fact that the steamy scenes made me break out in the sweats? The PLOT TWIST that I did not see coming!!! And NO, I'm not going to tell you what it is, you'll have to read the book and see for yourself *wink*

The writing is quick paced, Adams get down to the "nitty gritty" straight out of the gate and she will leave you breathless.

EXCERPT - "I wrap an arm around her back and pull her close before throwing my lips on hers. A soft moan escapes her throat as I invade her mouth with my tongue. Normally, I take what I want from Kristin. But right now, I’m giving to her. Giving her everything that I feel in this kiss.


She opens her mouth and takes, too, taking my kiss as if she were starving. I lift my elbows over her shoulders and run both hands through her hair, pulling her body to me as close as I can. My dick is pushing against the towel, but for the first time, I don’t want to jam my cock inside of her. I want the desire to build. I want to feel our tongues fucking each other for a while.

And I think I want to feel what’s in her heart through this kiss.

She opens herself up to me, sighing as our mouths remain pressed together. And her hands run up my shoulders. But then I feel her body start to pull away, her back arching slightly and her lips pursing together. Her palms push against my chest and she snaps her head to the side.

“No,” she says, wincing as she struggles to free herself.

But I hold her tight. “What is it?”

“No,” she repeats, shaking her head. “No, I don’t…I can’t…”

“You can’t what?” I say, curling my fingers around her wet strands.

She looks at me, tears forming in her eyes. I can see the pain there and it’s so deep. “I don’t deserve you,” she croaks. “I don’t deserve any of this.”

She throws her hands over her face, and it shocks me so much I back away from her, placing my hands on her wrists to pull them down. I need to see her, need to tell her that I don’t care what she did. She does deserve me. Hell, depending on what she’s done to make her feel so ashamed, we probably deserve each other, in more ways than one.

“Kristin, look at me,” I say, trying to keep my voice soft and low when what I want to do is growl.

She shakes her head violently and lets her hands fall down. Tears rolling down her face, her chin quivering, she shifts her gaze behind me, her eyes going dark all of a sudden.

I twist my head to see what’s there, but there is nothing. And Kristin uses the opportunity to dart past me, practically shoving me out of the way as she sprints out of the room. I turn and launch myself forward to chase after her, but the soles of my feet are still damp, and as soon as I’m off the small rug, I lose my footing and slip on the floor.

Fortunately, I don’t totally wipe out. But the near-fall delays me enough that Kristin is several paces ahead of me. I get close and swing my hand, missing her arm by several inches.

“Kristin! Stop!”

She’s halfway down the hall, but she’s half my weight and much faster. Two-hundred and twenty-three pounds does not move very fast. I might be big enough and strong enough to stop a freight train, but I couldn’t catch one if my life depended on it.

She’s out my front door in seconds and I’m quickly falling behind her.

“Goddamn it! I said stop!”

She’s pumping her arms and I can hear her crying. And while the storm has passed, our towels are the only things separating us from the chilly air.

“Kristin! There’s nowhere to go!” I bark, my voice now becoming gravelly as I lose my patience. “Stop running before you hurt yourself!”

Just as I say it, her foot slips out from underneath her and she crashes to the ground.

“Shit,” I mutter, falling down next to her. “Are you okay?”

Her entire body is racked with sobs. And as she starts to roll over, I mount her and take her by the wrists, firmly but gently pinning her arms to the ground. She’s not fighting me this time but her face is twisted up in agony.

“Tell me where you’re hurt, Kristin.”

“I’m not,” she says, her eyes still clamped shut as tears stream down the sides of her face.

“Then what? Why did you freak out like that?”

Her chest spasms as she sucks in several gasps of air.

I slide my hands up, lacing my fingers through hers.

“You ought to know by now that nothing fazes me. Whatever it is, I can handle it.” I squeeze her hands and lower my face to hers. “For fuck’s sake, just tell me, you crazy bitch,” I growl at her.

She finally opens her eyes. Her lips fall into a frown as her gaze roams my face. It’s as if she’s worried this is the last time she will see me like this." - Brittany Adams


So there you have it my lovely bibliophiles! Make sure and add these books to your ever growing lists and subscribe to the authors pages so you can get updates! Peace out for now.

Much Love,

Pandora

If you have a book that you would like for me to review of if you're in need of a beta reader, please reach out! pandorascaja@gmail.com

Thursday, August 17, 2017

Summer's Coming To A Close, But The Hot Reads Keep Coming! Heather Killough-Walden, LaShawn Vasser, and Chevelle Allen

Shout out to all my bibliophiles out there! It's time for me to catch you up on what I've been reading and my picks for I really, really think should be added to the infamous #TBRL. So here we go! Let's start off with some Heather Killough-Walden.

A few days I got the shock of my life! I was sitting on my porch reading my most recent Kindle eBook, and out of the blue the name Heather Killough-Walden came to mind. Heather is the writer of one of my favorite paranormal romance series, the "King Series". I had read up to book 5 and much to my chagrin, what I thought was book 7 was really book 8! I had totally missed several installations on the series and now a new was had just been released. I automatically warmed up my Amazon One Click finger and purchased book 7, 9, 10, and 11. Then it was time to get to work!

I wish I had time to walk you through all of the books that I just read, but that would be a bit much; however I am going to talk about The Nightmare King, book 11 in the series.

First, let me start by saying that if you're a series kinds of reader, then Killough-Walden is an author that you need to keep in serious rotation. One of the things that I enjoy about her series is that each book can be read as a stand alone. The min characters story lines are complete, even though there is a cliff hanger that leads you into the next book in the series. From the first book she tells us that there will be 13 Kings and Queens, but trust me when I say that each story is a fresh look at so many of the types of characters that you may come across is the realm of the paranormal. I'm not going to give away any spoilers, but if the Nightmare King as as Killough-Walden has created Him then bring on the Nightmares!!

"When she was fourteen, Adelaide Lane made a choice that landed her in the ICU of her town’s general hospital. Her prognosis was not good. When against all odds she woke up, it was to find that she had re-entered life not only with physical and mental scars, but with the ability to see into the future.
For twenty years, Addie has used this power to do good in a world gone bad. It isn’t easy, and it’s often illegal. To make matters worse, of late she’s experienced a vision more horrible than any before – and she has no idea how to stop the event from occurring.
Adelaide’s life is chaos. What she doesn’t have time for is love, and she’s certain there’s no one on Earth who would have anything to do with her topsy-turvy life anyway.

Nick has only been alive for a few short hours. He is the Nightmare King, the sovereign of a race of incubi as old as time. When his previous form was murdered by a traitor amidst the thirteen supernatural factions, he was reborn into the handsome but notorious man, Nicholas Wargrave. Housed in a new body with a new reputation, he is instantly fighting against an ancient foe, the Challenger, a man who disputes his position as king every time Nicholas is reborn.
Nick not only has to get used to the new life given to him and withstand the Challenger’s attacks, he has to confront the Entity who issued his death in the first place. So he’s vastly unprepared when he comes face to face with the most beautiful soul he has ever beheld – and realizes the woman housing that soul is his fated queen.

Now his priorities are completely rearranged. Adelaide comes first.
The problem is, the Challenger feels the same way.

And so does the Entity who killed him.

The Nightmare King is book eleven in The Kings series, by New York Times and USA Today bestselling paranormal romance author, Heather Killough-Walden."


Next Up! The Room, by LaShawn Vasser. Again we have another one of my faves. What can I say about LaShawn, she has a beautiful way of producing of a well crafted romance that gives you just enough surprise, just enough fire that culminates in the heat that we all want in a great romance. I'm sorry, by the time I finish a book, if I haven't had to fan myself or wipe a tear, the writer didn't do their job. Again, no spoilers here, but, I DID NOT SEE THAT ONE COMIN'!

Back to the book, let me point out that for those of  you into BDSM, The Room is NOT what you're looking for. On a personal tip....I'm starting to get a bit tired of reading books with the BDSM angle. I know that it has its niche out there in reader land, but I don't think EVERY author out there has to try and write it. This book is made for the die hard romance purist. Thank you LaSawn for another stellar getaway for the mind.

"Robyn Levy was over chasing the superficial. Her days were empty and downright unsatisfying.
Wake up.
Work hard.
Spend her nights alone. 
And, start all over again . . . until she entered THE ROOM. 
Maxwell Bryant has always known exactly what he wanted and stopped at nothing to get it. 
But, one goal continued to remain elusive. Or, was it finally within reach?
Find out what happens in THE ROOM – A Sensuous Experience."


Now for my unexpected Kindle surprise!!Asira Awakens by Chevelle Allen. For the life of me I can't remember how I cam across this title, but I'm glad that I did. I am always, ALWAYS looking for a new paranormal romance author, and the fact that it's also an IR romance was the cherry on top. As far as I can tell Asira Awakens is a stand alone (too bad, this one should have a sequel)

I had read an Amazon review or maybe it was Goodreads, but the reader said that the beginning was a bit confusing for her, but after that it was a joy. I didn't find the beginning confusing at all, but what I will tell you all while trying not to give any spoilers, is that Chevelle did her history homework. There are moments of historical flashback, but it works seamlessly to help push the plot along.

So please, PLEASE add this one to your TBRL.

"As Chief Archivist at St. Mary University in Detroit, Deborah Brooks is smart, beautiful, and focused. Deep within the archives she cares for letters, diaries, books. and family records, each telling stories of lives lived long ago. Yet nothing excites her more than making new discoveries among the storied collections. When the University receives the Dubois Collection anonymously, along with a multi-million dollar gift to protect it, Deborah is more than intrigued to discover its secrets.

Little prepares her for an unexpected visit from the donor—the sexy Englishman, Ben Stewart. He is relentless, charming, and far more than she imagines. He shatters everything she thought she knew… about herself. Together, they unravel the secrets of the Dubois Collection finding love and mounting danger along the way.

But it’s Ben’s utterance of one word—awaken—that triggers a flurry of unrelenting visions she can’t escape. Deborah soon learns the visions are key to unraveling the mystery that binds her to Ben. Can they save each other, or will he lead to her ultimate demise?"


So that's it for this round! If you have a book that you would like to suggest, or if you're an author and have a book that you would like for me to review, please feel free to hit me up!

Much Love,
Pandora

Wednesday, July 5, 2017

Susannah Sandlin's Penton Legacy - Giving The Black Dagger Brotherhood A Run For It's Money

Listen, you know I have this thing going on with my Kindle where I submit a query, it spins its little Kindle wheels and spits out choices for me. Once again I put in a search for interracial paranormal and one of the titles that it gave me was Absolution by Susannah Sandlin. I was riveted from page one!! This is one of the first PnR that I've ever read that I think is on par with J.R. Ward's Black Dagger Brotherhood and that's saying something.

For those of you that don't know me, you wouldn't know that J.R. Ward was one of the first PnR writers that I got into. In my opinion she sets the standard for PnR writers. You know have some frame of reference for the gravitas of me saying that Susannah Sandlin's Penton Legacy is on par with J.R. Ward's BDB.

Anyhoo!! My only problem was that Absolution is book two in the Penton Legacy series. So as soon as I finished with book two, I had to turn around and grab book one Redemption. Again, I was not disappointed. Reading book one let me know that Susannah was not just a "One and Done", she's the real deal. And yes I have already downloaded book three in the now five book series, Omega.

So what is it about these books that I enjoyed so much? I enjoyed that they are a fully thought out, well crafted series of stories that only leave you wanting where the author wants to leave you wanting. This PnR has all the steamy "Good Good" that we've come to associate with the romance genre, but the "paranormal part of it is written so beautifully that we forget that it's "para" and it just feels "normal".

Do yourself a HUGE favor and start reading this series if you haven't already. Here's and excerpt from all of the books in the series.

Susannah, thank you for this series! I just downloaded book three and I'm over the moon to see what's going to happen next!! P.S.  - this is purely personal, I have fallen in love with this series, but...could you please put an Africa American female as the love interest in one of them? Please! Please!

Happy Reading All!

Much Love!

PENTON LEGACY #1 REDEMPTION

For vampire Aidan Murphy, life has never been so desperate. The vaccine used to treat a global pandemic has rendered human blood deadly to his kind, leaving them on the brink of starvation and civil war.

In tiny Penton, Alabama, Aidan establishes a peaceful community of vampires and unvaccinated human donors. He dares to hope they can survive—until his estranged brother descends upon Penton and begins killing the humans. Determined to save his town, Aidan kidnaps an unsuspecting human doctor—and finds himself falling in love for the first time in nearly four centuries.

Dr. Krystal Harris thought she was coming to Penton for a job interview, but Aidan Murphy has other plans. Infuriated by his high-handed scheme to imprison her in the small town, Krys can't ignore the attraction between them. But is it love? Or does her dangerous, charismatic captor want only to bend her to his will?

PENTON LEGACY #2 ABSOLUTION

With the vampire world on the brink of civil war over the scarcity of untainted human blood, battle lines are being drawn between the once peaceful vampire and human enclave of Penton, Alabama, and the powerful Vampire Tribunal. Mirren Kincaid once served the tribunal as their most creative and ruthless executioner—a time when he was known as the Slayer. But when assigned a killing he found questionable, Mirren abandoned the tribunal’s political machinations and disappeared—only to resurface two centuries later as the protector and second-in-command of Penton. Now the tribunal wants him back on their side.

To break their rogue agent, they capture Glory Cummings, the descendant of a shaman, and send her to restore Mirren’s bloodthirsty nature. But instead of a monster, Glory sees a man burdened by the weight of his past. Could her magic touch—meant by the tribunal to bring out a violent killer—actually help Mirren break his bonds and discover the love he doesn’t believe he deserves?

PENTON LEGACY #3 OMEGA

The bloody war between the Vampire Tribunal and the defiant scathe of Penton, Alabama, rages on, forcing its residents and their bonded humans to retreat into the underground fortress of last resort: Omega.

There, Will Ludlam is charged with the care of Penton’s humans, though he longs to fight alongside his vampire brethren. He knows the risks: as the renegade son of the Tribunal’s vicious leader, Will’s capture could doom the resistance. Yet he is determined to prove his worth to his adopted scathe, to his vengeful father—and to former US Army officer Randa Thomas, his beautiful, reluctant partner.

Randa has little faith that a former member of the vampire elite has what it takes to fight a war. But as their enemies descend upon Omega, Will’s polished charm—and Randa’s guarded heart—finally give way to the warrior within.

Fans of Susannah Sandlin’s Penton Legacy are sure to devour this long-awaited third installment of the steamy paranormal series.

PENTON LEGACY #4 ALLEGIANCE

British vampire psychiatrist and former mercenary Cage Reynolds returns to Penton, Alabama, looking for a permanent home. The town has been ravaged by the ongoing vampire war and the shortage of untainted human blood, and now the vampires and humans that make up the Omega Force are trying to rebuild. Cage hopes to help the cause, put down roots in Penton, and resolve his relationship with Melissa Calvert. The last thing he expects is an attraction to Robin Ashton, a trash-talking eagle shape-shifter and new Omega recruit.

Meanwhile, as a dangerous saboteur wreaks havoc in Penton, the ruthless Vampire Tribunal leader Matthias Ludlam has been freed on the eve of his scheduled execution. But by whom? And to what end? As war and chaos rage on, love is the last thing Cage is looking for, but will his attraction to Robin distract him from the danger living among them?

PENTON LEGACY #5 ILLUMINATION

He came to Penton seeking peace. Nik Dimitrou joined the Army to escape his family curse, only to have his psychic abilities exploited as a weapon. Now, as a civilian, he turns to the bottle to veil the images that come unbidden whenever he touches anyone–except vampires. With them, he has finally found a respite. But as Penton moves into open warfare with the Vampire Tribunal, Nik finds himself deep inside the conflict, not to mention fighting a transformation in his own body more frightening than anything he’s faced.

She wanted to change the world. Shay Underwood watched her Peace Corps parents move from one third world country to another, helping others–until both died following an outbreak of Dengue Fever. Driven to pursue a career in tropical medicine, Shay works in New Orleans to cure the disease that killed her parents–until a careless weekend outing draws her into a world far more dangerous than the diseases she studies: a desperate vampire society engaged in human trafficking.

Two cities, two strangers, one world. With Penton rebellion leader Aidan Murphy making risky choices and chief vampire lieutenant Mirrren Kincaid forced to take a leadership role, it will fall to two outsiders, Nik and Shay, to find a way for Penton–and themselves–to survive.

Wednesday, June 14, 2017

The Weather Is Finally Heating Up And So Is The Romance!

It has been TOO long readers, and for that I have no excuse. Life if just like that sometimes, BUT I have finally found some time (when I'm not exhausted, you know, working full time, taking care of an elderly parent, my kids, and a house. It takes a toll) to sit down and catch you up on all that is good out there in "Alphabet City".

The weather is finally getting warmer and so is the romance! There were actually a few surprises out there! So of course I had to share them with you.

I'm going to start with Rebekah Weatherspoon's Haven, the first book in her new Beards and Bondage series. As you know, Rebekah is one of my favorite authors, and while I haven't read all of her work, the ones that I have read I've thoroughly fallen in love with. Haven is no exception.

One of the main reasons that I enjoy Rebekah's work is her award winning ability to blend lovable characters, humor, and steamy sex into a story that's a true page turner. Haven was something that I just didn't expect. Like I said, I haven't read all of her work, so maybe Rebekah has other works similar to this; but Haven is a much darker type of romance than the other works that I've had the pleasure of reading.

Beards and Bondage falls in the  BDSM, Contemporary, Drama, Erotic Romance, Romance, Suspense genres.

*Personal Note* To Rebekah, thank you for what you bring to the world of romance, especially interracial romance. So many books in the BWWM realm seem to just be some thrown together, from who knows where, story where all the female character can do is simply be grateful to the billionaire boyfriend and "oops" somehow end up pregnant. Thank you for writing two characters that are strong even in their "brokenness".

Brava Chica! Brava! Looking forward to book two in the series!!

HAVEN

"A week-long getaway…

City girl Claudia Cade’s carefree life is plunged into chaos when a camping trip with her brother in the national forests of Northern California turns into a deadly dash for her survival.

A solitary world turned upside down…

Nature photographer Shepard Olsen has resigned himself to a quiet existence, with only his dog by his side, until a woman in need of his protection shows up on his doorstep and throws his universe into disarray.

Two lives linked by tragedy…

Claudia is desperate to heal from her traumatic loss, but can’t stop thinking about her run-in with evil….or the grizzled mountain man whose quick thinking and good aim saved her life. When she shows up on Shep’s doorstep again, she finds she isn’t the only one who can’t move on.

… saved by bliss.

The two begin an intense, passionate relationship of Dominance and submission, pleasure and pain, but with dark memories haunting them and decisions about the future rapidly approaching, Claudia can’t help but wonder…how long can they be each other’s haven?"


*** WARNING: This book contains a sexual relationship between a fashionista and a cranky mountain man who are dealing with physical and emotional trauma. And a very big, cuddly dog.***



Now for the next book, or should I say books, that have been occupying my time (I have to admit, when it comes to books, I think I have a bit of OCD. If I start a series and I LIKE it, then it's an impulse to read all of the books in the series before I can actually sit down and focus enough to write something. That's part of the reason it's taken me so long to actually sit down and write this article!)


The series that I'm talking about is T.S. Joyce's Red Havoc Series. This is a find that I can only thank my PnR query to my Kindle. Actually I queried Interracial PnR. I didn't like the selection that they gave me, that's another article in the making, but I did see the cover of Red Havoc Book three and I had to have it. I'm a firm believer that if the cover sucks, the book is going to suck. You can see for yourself, these book covers are begging you to peel them back and see what lies beneath *wink*

I can't leave you with an excerpt from each of the books because it would make it too long, but I will tell you that I have thoroughly enjoyed books one thru four of this series. I'm pretty sure that there's going to be a book five and yes I will be reading it. Unlike so many shifter series, the main fellas of Red Havoc aren't wealthy billionaires. These guys are barley eeking out a living in the mountains and their finally ready to meet their mates, much to their own chagrin, but find them they do. This is my first time reading anything by Joyce, and I think she's wonderful. She writes complete stories with well developed characters. There's suspense as well as the appropriate amount of serious "Good Good". Thank goodness I have my blood pressure under control.

Anyhoo! If you're a fan of PnR this is the series for you. Joyce also has several other series that I'm going to give a go. From the way they look I believe that they are linked to the Red Havoc characters.

RED HAVOC REBEL

"Kaylee Cummings is back in Covington to change her destiny. She used to be known as the town rich girl, misunderstood by everyone but one boy, Anson Carter. They’d loved hard, and then destroyed each other in their youth, so when she crashes into him again, the residual anger from what he’d done comes back ten-fold. All she has to do is stay far away from him, and follow through with her plan to change her life, but he’s reminding her exactly why she fell for him when they were teenagers. That panther shifter is trouble with a capital T, but she can’t seem to keep away from him. And he seems to be having the same problem staying away from her. Too bad what she’s really in town for could destroy them both if they aren’t careful.

Anson Carter never moved on from Kaylee. How could he? He’d picked her when they were seventeen, and then given everything for her, only to be betrayed. Now, all he can hope is to find peace in the Appalachian Mountains with a misfit, moonshiner crew of reclusive panther shifters. But when Kaylee blows back in town, his anger is hard to keep. She’s so different now, and her many secrets only make him more curious about the beautiful human he used to know. He’s drawn to her, but she’s back in their hometown for reasons that could get him and his Red Havoc Crew killed. Anson must make a choice—the girl he used to love, or the safety of the crew he’s grown to trust."


Content Warning: Explicit love scenes, naughty language, and piles of sexy shifter secrets. Intended for mature audiences.

So do yourself a well deserved favor and spend some of these hot summer nights chillin' out with Rebekah Weatherspoon and T.S. Joyce. I promise you you won't regret it.

Much Love, Pandora




Friday, January 27, 2017

Starting The Year Off Right! My Faves (List 1)

I know we're almost to the end of the first month of the new year, but there's still time for me to give a list of books that will keep your TBR List fat and happy for the next few months. I'll start with my top picks and then follow-up with my honorable mentions.



1. Rebekah Weatherspoon's
    So For Real

Let me start by saying Rebekah! Gurl! I love you and your writing!!! Please, please don't ever STOP!
*Whew* with my "Fan Girl" rant now over let's talk about Rebekah Weatherspoon's So For Real.

So For Real is the third book in the Sugar Baby novella series. This book went live on November 1, 2016. There are very few series that make me bite my nails while I'm waiting for it, but this is one of them. I just had to find out what was going on with the main characters Kayla and Michael! We have gone on a funny, sexy, loving journey with them and of course I wanted to see that happy ending. As expected Rebekah did not disappoint. Her writing is filled with well placed humor, pop your ovaries "good good", as well as creating characters that you will cry with and root for. Well done Sister Gurl!!

"Even the best laid plans can go completely off the rails…

After pulling off the perfect wedding, Kayla Davis, now Kayla Bradbury need only sit back and enjoy her wonderful life with her amazing husband, internet billionaire and NBA franchise owner, Michael Bradbury. The two are so head over heels for each other that finding creative ways to extend their honeymoon a whole year seems like the only logical next step in their fool-proof plan for happiness.

Too bad life has other ideas for the newlyweds. With personnel hiccups in her small business, a husband balancing dual CEO responsibilities, and news that there will be not one, but two unexpected additions to the Bradbury crew, Kayla needs to totally reconfigure her life if she has any hope of keeping things afloat." - Rebekah Weatherspoon 




2. Jenika Snow's 
A Mate For The Savage

Man oh man...what can I say about Jenika's work. Wait let me back track, this is definitely  not the first book that I've read by Jenika. Her Real Man series is like potato chips, you can't read just one! I'll read several in one day.

What ever kind of Alpha Male floats your boat, you'll be able to shuffle through her books and find him. But let me warn you, by the time you're finished you fall in love with all of them. Not to mention...I don't know WHERE she finds all the studs that she does to grace her covers, but the visual will give you the seats all by themselves!!

"Audrey has known that the slave traders could come for her and her family at any moment, and that time came far too soon. When her mother and brother are killed, and she’s taken to the auctions to be sold to the highest bidder, she knows she can’t live the rest of her life in sexual servitude. But when she manages to escape it isn’t freedom she finds, but a barbaric and savage man that claims she’s his in any way he sees fit.
The moment Styx sees the female he knows she’ll be his mate. She’s human, and although he has human characteristics, he isn’t of her species. But what he knows for certain, what has every part of him tense and ready, is the fact his woman will have his baby inside of her." Jenika Snow - Evernight Publishing








3. LeTeisha Newton's Phenominal

What can I say about Leteisha, she has and will always be on my list of authors that should constantly be in your book stash! She's written everything from Paranormal Romance to hard core down and dirty dark erotica, just choose your pleasure. Leteisha is one of the most diverse writers that I've come across in a very long time.






"I saw her when my face looked like ground meat.

She had one shoe, lost to the world, fragile, ad so fucking beautiful I couldn’t look away.

And then she asked me to take her home. To take away the pain.

It was dangerous to make such a request. Not knowing who I was. What I could do. But I took her home. Did what she asked. And fell in love with her. Fell in love with the broken girl who twisted me up inside. Taught me I was worth believing in. Showed me that I didn’t have to lose in the ring anymore, because she gave me the strength to fight harder.

And then I lost her…

I’ve got to get her back. Fight for her. Win. Take what’s mine, and keep her." LeTeisha Newton


4. L.J. Shen's Vicious (Sinner of Saint #1)

This is my greatest find of the month!! I hadn't heard of L.J. Shen until I saw an add on my FB timeline for her book Vicious, book one in the Sinner of Saint series. As per my usual, I looked at the smokin' hot cover and said to myself, "What the heck, let's give it a go." I was hooked from page one!! I curled up on my couch with my Kindle App a nice glass of marsala and went to work. Let me tell you! L.J. gives you well developed characters, a stunning story line and of course five star "Good Good".  I plan on pushing the limits of my Kindle App by purchasing all the books in this series and anything else that she's written. (There is a Sinner of Saint 0.5 novella available, but it's not necessary to read this before enjoying Vicious).

With that said, It's a pleasure to meet you L.J., you're books are going to be a part of my wheel house for many years to come!


"Emilia

They say love and hate are the same feelings experienced under different circumstances, and it’s true. 
The man who comes to me in my dreams also haunts me in my nightmares. 
He is a brilliant lawyer. 
A skilled criminal. 
A beautiful liar. 
A bully and a savior, a monster and a lover. 
Ten years ago, he made me run away from the small town where we lived. Now, he came for me in New York, and he isn’t leaving until he takes me with him. 

Vicious

She is a starving artist. 
Pretty and evasive like cherry blossom. 
Ten years ago, she barged into my life unannounced and turned everything upside down. 
She paid the price. 
Emilia LeBlanc is completely off-limits, my best friend’s ex-girlfriend. The woman who knows my darkest secret, and the daughter of the cheap Help we hired to take care of our estate. 
That should deter me from chasing her, but it doesn’t. 
So she hates me. Big fucking deal. 
She better get used to me." L.J. Shen

So there you have it!! My top picks to warm up your winter reading! Now for my honorable mentions. Please don't get it twisted, these are honorable mentions but they are all off the chain as well. Happy reading!!

Much Love,

Pandora







Thursday, October 27, 2016

M. Skye and Jenika Snow Two Halves Of The Same Delicious Coin

My life is still in hectic mode! Just bought a new house, so I've been packing and moving for the second time, but hopefully the last time. The process is a BEAR! But during that time I did manage to get some reading in.

The time that I did find to read I chose to spend my time with M. Skye and Jenika Snow. These two ladies are both home run hitters in the world of erotica/romance writing, but they each have a different style that will be sure to cure what ever is ailing you. Sometimes you want it slow and languid with an intense build, sometimes you want it quick, hot, and dirty. That's what these ladies will give you.

First let's start with slow, languid, and intense, that would be M.Skye. I read From Main Chick to Mistress. I don't do spoilers, but I will tell you that in true M. Skye form this is a full length read. The story is on point! I can tell you this, it's a fully flushed out story with characters that you will fall in love with and root for. There is loads of hot and steamy Good Good, as well a several plot twists that honestly, you just won't see coming.

After her husband of fifteen years dumped her, Elizabeth Pearson decided the best revenge would be to become the very thing she despised most a mistress…

Embarking on a racy affair with her ex-husband, Cedric, Liz gets the best of both worlds, while sticking it to him and his new bride, Felicia. Having the most fun and the best sex life she has ever had, Elizabeth soon discovers divorce may have been the best thing that ever happened to her.

With new players in the mix, and love and money on the line, Elizabeth has to decide if she wants Cedric, or if he’s just a loose end to tie in her quest for revenge.

I also recommend A Kiss Before Lying 1 and 2.

Dear M. Skye, I really, REALLY hope that there will be some sort of sequel or follow-up to this book! Loved it!





Next up we have Jenika Snow, what can I say about her! She has the ability to bring to life to every type of rugged man that you can think of! If you're looking for MM she's got it, lumberjack, he's there too! Like I said you can pick your pleasure. Take a look at her Real Man series!

I read all of the books in the series. They're very quick reads, but please don't get it twisted, Jenika does't sacrifice one ounce of quality.

These aren't the first books that I've read of Jenika's and they definitely won't be the last.

He hasn’t been with a woman in five years.

She hasn’t been with a real man … until now.


VIVIAN

I’ve had enough of the crap that goes along with living in the city. So, I packed for a week long vacation in the mountains. Isolation in a cabin for the next seven days sounds like a good way to recoup and get my life back in order. After getting lost while hiking, I stumble upon a cabin that has me questioning whether to ask for help, or if I should brave staying the night in the woods.

JAKE

I left everything behind years ago after the woman I was with betrayed me. Now I work as a lumberjack and live my life as a recluse. Being celibate for the last five years says a lot about my self-control, but I’m a man and have needs, and not giving into what I really want is hard as hell. But I can’t let myself get close to anyone, not even for a few hours. Getting close is how I got screwed over before.

As soon as I see Vivian, I know I have to have her. It’s been forever since I’ve had a woman. Because of a storm rolling in, she’ll have to stay with me overnight. We could do a lot of filthy things in that time. I pride myself on my control, but when it comes to Vivian, I don’t know if I can keep my hands to myself.

I know I can’t.

I have needs, and it’s clear Vivian’s in need of a real man to help her unwind. I can certainly help her in that department.

Warning: If you’re looking for a sappy, pull-your-heartstring kind of book … this isn’t it. If you want a short and dirty story featuring an all-around alpha hero who hasn’t had a woman in years, and a heroine who’ll find out what it’s like to be with a real man ... this might be for you.

She will be the only one he’ll ever want.
He was the first boy she fell in love with.

Quinn

I met Isabel when I was ten.

I fell in love with her before I even knew what that meant.
I knew from the moment I saw her she was it for me. No one else compared to her, and I’d do anything to make her mine. But I was afraid of losing the friendship we have, so I've kept my mouth shut.
But she's leaving me, and I know I can't keep how I feel inside any longer.

Saving myself for the girl I loved isn't a hardship, but something I'm proud of. When it comes to Isabel giving her my virginity, and making her see we belong together, is all that matters.

Isabel

Quinn is like the other half of my soul, the one person I can talk to about anything. He has the bad boy thing going on but is also respectful as much as he is a rebel.

He is the first and only boy I will ever love.
Being forced to move across the country, and leave him behind is like leaving a piece of myself in the process. But telling Quinn, I am madly in love with him could put a strain on our friendship. I didn’t know if that’s something I can handle or risk.

Quinn

Nothing can keep me from Isabel. She is it for me, and I mean that in every conceivable way. Nothing can keep me from her. I hope she's ready because there isn't anything or anyone that will stop me from having her as mine.

Warning: This story is quick and dirty, and filled with a virgin hero that wants his heroine to be his one and only. It's drama free, and has insta-everything going on, so be prepared to have an overload of sugary virgin goodness.

He’s done being the bad boy … he’s ready to be a father.

DEX

I’m the bad boy; the one mothers warn their daughters about. But I’d never seen myself settling down, and at the time that had been fine with me. Then life, reality, whatever you wanted to call it, bitch slapped me right across the face, and I knew what I wanted.

A baby.

At thirty-nine I was having a severe case of baby fever, and that meant convincing the one woman I’ve always wanted but knew was too good for me, to be mine and be the mother of my child.

EVA

I’ve always wanted Dex. It’s hard not to want a man like Dex. He’s all raw power and cut muscle. He’s the epitome of what a real man is, but he’s not a bastard about it.

But then he throws me a curve ball and says he wants me not only as his woman … but the mother of his child.

And I’ll be honest; it’s what I’ve always wanted.

DEX

The truth is Eva deserves better than me, but I’m too selfish, and I want her too badly to back away.

Nothing will stop me from making her mine … and putting my baby inside her.

Warning: This book is short and right to the point—like the kind of story that gives you whiplash. If you enjoy unbelievable plots, and insta-everything going on, you may enjoy this.



He’ll show her how a real man treats a woman…



SABINE

I've never known how good it could feel to be taken care of by a man who knew what he was doing.

Until I was with Hugo...



HUGO

I was older than her.

She was innocent, hadn't experienced all that life had to offer.

I could give her that experience.

Sabine consumed my thoughts, made me desire nothing else but her. No other woman compared to her, and because of that, I haven’t been with a woman for four years, which was also the last time I saw Sabine.

But I was done feeling guilty for what I desired. I wanted Sabine in my life, by my side, and I was about to make that a reality.

I didn’t know if she’d ever been treated the way a female should … but I was going to show her how a real man takes care of a woman.


Warning: If you’re into super short, hot, dirty reads containing a much older hero and younger heroine … keep on reading. This story is guaranteed to make you feel all warm and fuzzy inside, give you that sweet HEA we all deserve, and make you want to search out an experienced older man for yourself.

BRENDAN

I’ve done pretty damn well in hiding my feelings for her over the years, but having Meghan under the same roof as me, and only feet from my bed makes it hard to control myself.

The truth is when it comes to Meghan I don’t want to practice self-control. I love her.

MEGHAN

I’ve known him nearly my whole life. He’s cocky, gets under my skin, but is gorgeous and caring, too. And as much as I want to say it doesn’t affect me, I’d be lying.
The truth is I love him, and I don’t know if that’ll end up destroying me.

BRENDAN

She needed a place to stay, and now she’s got a roommate … me. But I’m about to show her that I want more than a friendly arrangement. Too much time has passed, and I’m done waiting. I’m ready to step up and be a man.
I’ve never been good at sharing, and when it comes to her, she’s mine.


Warning: You like short, hot, straight to the point stories? Do you want drama-free sexiness that leaves nothing to the imagination? Do you want a story that is pretty unbelievable, but gives you the warm fuzzies at the same time? Well then, leave your panties at the door because that’s what’s going down in this quickie.

Now get out there and enjoy a great read!
Much Love,

Pandora